You are here
Home > Music Project > Album > Sauti Sol – Midnight Train (Album)

Sauti Sol – Midnight Train (Album)

Sauti Sol: Kenyan Pop Band Set Release Date For "Midnight Train"

Multi Award Winning Kenya’s Biggest Music Band, Sauti Sol Finally Issues Out The Highly Anticipated Music Project, Fifth Studio Album Titled “Midnight Train.”

Highly sought after Kenyan music group, Sauti Sol rolled out as promised, on June 5 2020, the much anticipated thirteen packed music project titled “Midnight Train.”

The project which appears their first album under the imprint of Universal Music Group (UMG), with whom they signed a record deal on 31 January 2020, and fifth career studio album after releasing “Mwanzo” (in 2008), “Sol Filosofia” (in 2011), “Live & Die In Afrika” (in 2015), and “Afrika Sauce” (in 2019).

Recorded in Nairobi (Kenya), Johannesburg (South Africa) and Los Angeles (California), the album explores various themes and features production from American Grammy Award-winning producer Andre Harris, who has worked with various prominent artists including Usher, Mary J. Blige and Alicia Keys, as well as Congolese musician Kaysha.

Though Sauti Sol officially announced the album’s impending release on 17 April 2020, it was preceded by the release of four singles after signing with UMG. It’s lead single, “Suzanna,” was released on 7 February 2020 and touches on young men and women focusing on materialism when looking for a partner.

READ ALSO:  Sauti Sol: Kenyan Pop Band Set Release Date For "Midnight Train"

“Disco Matanga (Yambakhana),” a collaboration with South African rapper Sho Madjozi and South African house duo Black Motion, followed three weeks later. Its release coincided with the release of the first season of Netflix’s first original South African series Queen Sono as well as its official soundtrack, for which the song was created.

On the day of the album’s announcement, its third single “Brighter Days” was also released. It involves another South African collaboration, with the band this time recruiting the Soweto Gospel Choir for an uplifting tune that carries a message of hope. “Insecure” was the final single to precede the album on 21 May 2020, and explores different insecurities that people face in their daily lives, primarily within the context of love and relationships.

READ: Sauti Sol: Kenyan Pop Band Set Release Date For “Midnight Train”

Singing in Swahili, Luhya, Luo and English, Sauti Sol prides themselves on storytelling as an East African tradition that permeates music from that region and this is what has kept them relevant with audiences across the world and earned them so many accolades along the way.

READ ALSO:  Mp3 + Video: Sauti Sol ft. Khaligraph Jones - Rewind

Stream,download and enjoy the full body of work below, like, share and give your thoughts.

Midnight Train Album Tracklist/Download Link

  1. Intro [Download/Listen]
  2. Midnight Train [Download/Listen]
  3. Insecure [Download/Listen]
  4. Feel My Love [Download/Listen]
  5. Brighter Days (Ft. Soweto Gospel Choir) [Download/Listen]
  6. Nenda Lote [Download/Listen]
  7. Suzanna [Download/Listen]
  8. Set Me Free (Interlude) [Download/Listen]
  9. My Everything (Ft. India.Arie) [Download/Listen]
  10. Wake Up (Ft. Mortimer) [Download/Listen]
  11. Sober [Download/Listen]
  12. Rhumba Japani (Ft. Bensoul, Kaskazini, Nairobi Horns Project, Nviiri the Storyteller, Okello Max & Xenia Manasseh) [Download/Listen]
  13. Disco Matanga (Yambakhana) (Ft. Black Motion & Sho Madjozi) [Download/Listen]

Stream the full project via the playlist player below:

  1. 01. Intro Sauti Sol 1:09
  2. 02. Midnight Train Sauti Sol 3:52
  3. 03. Insecure Sauti Sol 3:10
  4. 04. Feel My Love Sauti Sol 3:58
  5. 05. Brighter Days (ft. Soweto Gospel Choir) Sauti Sol 3:44
  6. 06. Nenda Lote Sauti Sol 4:24
  7. 07. Suzanna Sauti Sol 3:49
  8. 08. Set Me Free (Interlude) Sauti Sol 2:32
  9. 09. My Everything (ft. India.Arie) Sauti Sol 3:51
  10. 10. Wake Up (ft. Mortimer) Sauti Sol 3:44
  11. 11. Sober Sauti Sol 3:20
  12. 12. Rhumba Japani (ft. Bensoul, Kaskazini, Nairobi Horns Project, Nviiri the Storyteller, Okello Max & Xenia Manasseh) Sauti Sol 3:52
  13. 13. Disco Matanga [Yambakhana] (ft. Sho Madjozi & Black Motion) Sauti Sol 4:13